Skip to Content

Deep RiverRock Blues Awards 2022

On Thursday 9 June the 2022 Deep RiverRock Blues awards returned to the Queen's Whitla Hall. Each year Queen's University Belfast celebrates sports men and women who have achieved high standards of performance in their sport. The awards have been running for many years and provide a platform to acknowledge and recognise our most talented students who compete at a high level locally, nationally and internationally. The evening began with a recognition and presentation of Blues' awards to 38 Queen's students who have excelled in their sports. The 2022 Blues' recepients were then presented on the Whitla Hall stage to the gathered guests.

Full Blue Recipients 2022

Association Football Club (Men)                                      

Leon Bonnes (MSc Computer Science)                               

Ronan Young (Broadcast & Production)                                                                                                

Athletics Club                                                                       

Rachel McCann (Pharmaceutical Science)                           

Lauren Roy (Psychology)                                              

Boat Club                                                                              

Ross Corrigan (Chemical Engineering)                           

James Foley (BSc Economics & Accounting)                       

Nathan Hull (Management - PG)                                        

Dominic Murtagh (MSc Management)                                 

Hugh Moore (Agri Food & Land Use)

Konan Pazzaia (BSc Biological Sciences)

Ciaran Purdy (BSc Biochemistry)

Nathan Timoney (Business Management)

Cycling Club

Harvey Barnes (Mechanical Engineering)

Equestrian Club

Katie Conlon (Politics, Phil & Economics)

Fencing Club

Beth Taylor (MEng Civil Engineering)

Gaelic Football Club (Men's)

Brian Conway (Mechanical Engineering)

Conor Cush (Business IT)

Luke Donnelly (Finance)

Gaelic Football (Ladies)

Blaithin Bogue (Pharmacy)

Anna Carr (PGCE IT)

Grace Ferguson (Law)

Megan McCann (BSc Science)

Grainne McLauglhlin (MEng Civil Engineering)

Gymnastics Club

Ewan McAteer (Dentistry BDS)

Hockey Club (Ladies)

Erin Getty (PhD Biomedical Sciences)

Zoe Kilpatrick (Medicine)

Jenna McCarlie (Dentistry)

Rebecca Spence (Medicine)

Hockey Club (Mens)

Conor Irwin (Business Management)

Matthew McClimonds (Mechanical Engineering)

Harry Scott (Software & Electronic Engineering)

Rugby Club (Ladies)

Aiofe Cahill (Biochemistry)

Rachel McIlroy (Medicine)

Rugby Club (Mens)

Tony Drennan (Politics, Phil & Economics)

James Humphreys (Geography)

Charlie Irvine (Medicine)

Conor McKee (Maths with Finance)

Lorcan McLoughlin (Business Economics)

Scott Wilson (Health, Physical Activity & Sport)


As well as the individual Blues awards Queen's also recognises Special Achievements in sport. This year's Special Achievement winners were as follows...

Individual Achievement

Erin Getty - Hockey

Team Of The Year

Rugby Men 1stXV

Coach Of The Year

Mark Burns - Hockey

Contribution to Sport

Peter Thompson - Soccer

In what is always the highlight of the student sporting calendar over 200 students, guests, alumni and sponsors met for a drinks reception on the university lawns before retiring to the Whitla Hall for the awards ceremony. The evening was hosted by BBC commentator Thomas Niblock.

Below are just a few images from what was a very successful and enjoyable Blues evening.