GAA Academy



Sean O'Neill Gaelic Football Scholarships in association with O'Hare & McGovern Armagh stars Charlie Vernon, Paul Courtney (both Gaelic Football), Caroline O'Hanlon (Ladies Gaelic Football) and Collette McSorley (Camogie) receive their GAA Scholarships

The GAA Academy was established in 2004 and has continued to promote and develop Gaelic Games through recreational, performance and community led projects.

The Gaelic Football team has been one of the most successful university teams over the last 10 years winning the Ulster Bank Sigerson twice, Ryan Cup twice and more recently reaching the final of the McKenna Cup in 2009. The club is noted for nurturing talent and has always put player's welfare first in terms of academic study and other playing commitments. The scholarships are named after GAA team of the millennium player and former Queen's player and manager Sean O'Neill.

The Ladies Gaelic Football team had one of their best seasons in 10 years reaching the All Ireland O'Connor Cup semi-final and 3 players achieving O'Connor Cup All-Stars. Armagh star Caroline O'Hanlon has been a shining light for the club over the past 5 years and was recently awarded the special contribution to Queen's sport award at the 2009 Sporting Blues Awards.

The Camogie team continues to bring home silverware as they have now claimed two Purcell Shields and one Purcell Cup in the last three years with several players attaining Colleges All -Star awards.

The GAA scholarship schemes for Gaelic Football and Hurling, supported by past member donations are named after two patrons, Sean O'Neill and Ted McConnell best known as two of the top sporting personalities in Ireland. The top awards in 2009 went to Charlie Vernon, Caroline O'Hanlon (both Armagh) and Gemma Begley (Tyrone).

To watch a video on the GAA Academy please click here